This blog post has nothing to do with fish, or tacos

Tonight, I made my first pot roast (so this post at least is food related).

The recipe has been handed down for generations. . .or as long as Lipton Onion Soup Mix has existed, which apparently is since my grandmother’s time making Pot Roast for her husband and family.

Truthfully, I’ve been scared of pot roast. Every recipe seems complex and long. Even slow cooker recipes require you to “sear” the roast on both sides in a pan before placing it in the slow cooker, which is completely ridiculous. A slow cooker recipe should require three things 1) gathering ingredients, 2) throwing ingredients in a pot and 3) setting the cook temperature/time.

I’ve always thought that the family pot roast recipe would be long and complex, because it is SO GOOD. The meat is fall-off-the-bone tender and melts in your mouth. So, I was shocked when my mom told me the recipe.

I shouldn’t divulge my secret, but it took me five minutes to prepare. Yes, it takes 6-8 hours to cook, but when you work an office job and need to set it and forget it, that cooking time means dinner is on the table when I get home.

My pot roast turned out amazing as well, so I think it’s a hard recipe to mess up. I’m no longer scared of pot roast.

On a blog housekeeping note, I promise I’ll put up links to friends blogs, start adding photos/video, all that cool stuff soon. I’m new at this, well sort of, I’m thinking of resurrecting Chubs Chronicles, for my own narcissistic sake and because I think Nico and the Bandit needs a cat counterpart.

Leave a Reply

