Settling In

I finally got my apartment unpacked and in order last week. The final step was to hang pictures on the wall.

All I wanted to do on Thursday night was to cook a meal at home. I didn’t want to make anything too difficult or time consuming, and I wanted some leftovers that would last me through the weekend.  Thursday night I had a networking party, and then needed to take a trip to the grocery store in the worst way.

My choice for dinner Thursday night is a go-to recipe handed down to me by my mom. The ingredients sound weird apart, but I assure you, mixed together it’s yummy.

This recipe also takes about 10 minutes to prepare. Pair it with some steam-in-a-bag veggies and yellow rice, and you’ve got a healthy and extremely easy meal. Plus leftovers for another dinner and lunch.

Mom’s Catalina Chicken

-Package of chicken thighs

-1 envelope onion soup mix

-1 bottle Catalina dressing (you can also use Russian dressing as an alternate)

-1 can Apricot sauce (you can also use cranberry sauce as an alternate)

Preheat oven to 350. Place chicken thighs in pyrex dish. Mix onion soup, dressing and sauce in bowl. Pour over chicken thighs. Cook chicken for 30-45 minutes. Serve with rice and veggies or sides of your choosing. Done.

I meant to take photos. Next time.

So enjoy this recipe. Tell me what you think, or if you make your own version of it.

Leave a Reply

