Such a BRAT

It’s been a while since I last posted, but it’s been a busy month, a not a whole lot of eating out – here’s a summary of what’s happened in the last 30 days:

  1.  The roof caved in: Dallas and I awoke at 3 a.m. on July 15 to the ceiling crashing down on the bed, us, and the new kitten – Willie Nelson. A month later, it’s finally getting fixed. Luckily, I don’t have to pay rent on the days I can’t live there, so I’ll be getting basically a month free. Maybe I can put that money towards eating out somewhere and blogging about it.
  2. California, here I come: Went to California and had an amazing trip. My stomach was feeling strange there, but I attributed it to the altitude changes (from San Francisco to Yosemite to Sequoia – lots of altitude change). I did eat some amazing food in San Francisco – at a place called Calzones. I’m sure it was a restaurant that partnered with the tour bus we took around the city, but nonetheless, the food was delicious. And yes, we had a calzone.
  3. ER Trip 2010: I seem to get an ER trip in once every calendar year. It used to fall on New Year’s Eve when I was a kid, but luckily, my body’s breakdown schedule seems to have moved to the Aug/Sept. timeframe. This time, it was severe stomach pain. I’ll spare the gory details, but ultimately, I inflammation of the lining of my stomach.  Pretty, huh?

 Basically, I can’t eat real foods until I start to feel better, and am on the BRAT diet – Bananas, Rice, Applesauce and Toast. Willie Nelson (the cat) really like this diet, and has tried to steal my bananas, and runs to me anytime I have a bowl of applesauce. Chubs and Shiloh could care less, they prefer WN’s baby cat food.

 So, I’m banned from any food that is spicy, fried, fast, or greasy for the time being. I can do without fast or greasy, maybe even fried, but I’ll miss spicy.  This ER experience has taught me that I probably do need to eat healthier, and take more care of what I’m eating. I’m going to try to cook more, and make healthier choices.

One thought on “Such a BRAT

Leave a Reply

