Adventures with P90X

I know, I know. I’m supposed to write about food. But with all of this eating, I’ve put on a few pounds. Also, I rode the muscle gain train from my half marathon TWO YEARS AGO (AHH! Need to do another one) and I’ve lost all muscle tone. It became abundantly clear when I saw pictures from a recent wedding I stood in as a bridesmaid. The dress I bought was loose when I got it, but I certainly filled it out by the time of the wedding.

Enough beating up on myself. I decided to jump back into exercise full speed, and go with P90x.

I actually purchased the program after mardi gras weekend in New Orleans. Enough said. However, it sat in the living room of three apartments until I finally picked it up on Tuesday.

Why didn’t I start in Feb? 1) too much going on in my life, 2) I was scared to death to start it.

I’ve heard nothing but horror stories about how hard it is and how much pain I’ll be in, blah blah blah. But I let the blahs get to me, and I got scared. BUT I started it on Tuesday, and honestly, it’s not that bad so far.

I’m doing the P90X lean program, which isn’t supposed to be “easier” than the others. I just don’t want to get ripped like a bodybuilder. I like it so far, because it seems to be based a lot in Yoga moves that I’m familiar with. I definitely worked up a sweat, and I’m a little sore. But it’s that “good workout” soreness, not excruciating pain.

So, I’ll continue on to day three, and probably share my experiences here as well.

Because it’s my blog, and I can write what I want to.

2 thoughts on “Adventures with P90X

  1. You’ll love it and it is extremely effective, especially when you follow the nutritional guidelines. Core synergistics is the best.

  2. Yes, so far, I love core synergistics. Kenpo X is my least favorite. Today is my first “rest day” and I have to say I’m feeling the pain today.

Leave a Reply

