Random Musings

Food news: I’m a little obsessed with AJC Food Critic John Kessler’s blog. I want him to cook for me.

Financial news: I made my budget for October – two actually. One looks at the whole month and one looks at each pay period. I’m a little nervous, but I’m going to try to stick to it. I see lots of mac and cheese and ramen noodles in my future. And fun date nights snuggled up on the couch with popcorn, glass of wine, and a netflix movie (my favorite kind of date night 🙂 )

ALSO, I cut up my first credit card. I had this credit card since college. It was leopard print. I haven’t used it in about 5 years, it had no balance on it. I tried to cancel it two years ago, and the lady on the phone talked me into keeping it. I finally decided yesterday to cancel it. It was so easy, they didn’t even put me through to a real person, just cancelled autimatically. Then I got out the scissors and chopped it up! One down, three to go.

UPDATE – Also, I just realized I have a $150 charge from the Sept. ER visit coming my way. I’m waiting for it in my mailbox, but now I realize I need to adjust my budget. Sigh.

General life news: Psycho kitty was let back into her home, in case my three readers were wondering. I’m also toying with the idea of training for another 1/2 marathon with LLS/Team in Training. I had such a good experience the first time. It’s also all about giving, and since I don’t have money to give, perhaps this will be my way to give back. I’ll probably do the local Publix 1/2 Marathon in Atlanta (the fundraising minimum is a bit smaller, and I wouldn’t have to travel), but there is also a race in Big Sur, and I think that would be amazing. I’m going to an informational meeting next week.

Leave a Reply

