This one is about eating.

I’m on a mission to expand my recipe rotation. I have about 3 or 4 go-to dishes, and I’m trying to branch out.

I grew up in a home where my mom did the majority of the cooking. That is, until my sister and I went off to college and she declared she was tired of it! However, we grew up always having dinner together as a family. No matter how busy we were, we always got together at the end of our day and shared a family table, turned off the TV and talked to each other.

Maybe it’s because I’m getting married, and I’m thinking about things like this now, but I want the same thing for us and our future family. I value that time my family spent together. I think a lot of families now just eat in front of the TV, and we are producing kids that have no social skills, because they aren’t practicing conversation at the table with their family.

But that’s a whole ‘nother rant.

It’s driving me nuts right now, because it my tiny apartment, I don’t have a kitchen table. I have a fold out leaf table from my grandparents, but it takes up most of the living room when unfolded, and not conducive for the space. I can’t wait until Dallas and I are in a house, and can actually enjoy dinner at a table, and not on my coffee table.

Lack of table aside, I have been cooking more. It’s more cost effective, and I actually have time to do it now. Our office department also subscribes to Bon Appetit, Food + Wine and Southern Living, so I get good recipe ideas from there.

Last night, I made Shrimp with Feta and Tomatoes from the December issue of Southern Living (my link isn’t working right now, I’ll add it later, but you can find the recipe easily online). It was SO GOOD and SO EASY. It earned a place on the recipe rotation. One more recipe in my repertoire.

I’m a little intimidated by the BA and Food + Wine recipes. While delicious, they look complicated and my confidence as a cook isn’t at that level yet. But it will be, and one day I’ll master one of their delicious recipes.

Right now, I’m just looking for quick, healthy and flavorful recipes. Also, if I can eat leftovers for lunch, that’s a BIG plus.

Happy Holidays folks. I’ll be taking another blogging break until the New Year!

Leave a Reply

