Love is picking up snotty tissues

I’ve been sick for about 4 day (if I’m counting right in my medicine induced fog). I’m pretty stubborn and I hate going to the doctor. Also, I have frustration when it comes to my doctor, it’s uberhard to get an appointment with her.

I thought, “I’ll be brave, I’ll tough it out.” Of course, I ended up with such a sore throat, that I was crying and couldn’t sleep. Dallas said, “I think you should go to the doctor.” I knew he was right and I knew when I woke up this morning that there was no way I could be productive at work.

I’m lucky that I have an understanding employer that adopts the policy of “please don’t bring your germs into the workplace” and I was able to work from home Monday and Tuesday.

I called my doctor’s office first thing this morning, but got their useless answering service. Even though the website says they open at 8 a.m., they really don’t open until 9 a.m. I guess.

I wanted to get this done fast, so I could go back to bed and get any meds I needed. So, I googled for urgent care facilities that would take my insurance.

Luckily, I found one right down the road called NextCare Urgent Care (in Edgewood Shopping Center for you Atlantans). I have to give them a shout out because this was the easiest doctor’s visit ever. I was able to “wait in line” at home with an online check-in process, and they actually were able to see me when they opened at 10 a.m.

The visit was quick and painless (well, except for a strep test, which hurt because of the sore throat, and I coughed in the nurses face by accident – sorry nice nurse) and the PA was nice and to-the-point with a plan. I ended up testing positive for strep, so I’m on penicillin, another medication to dry up all the goop in my face, and then strong ibuprofen for the pain.

These drugs are awesome, because I can actually get some sleep. And I feel a little loopy, so that’s entertaining for everyone.

We are definitely experiencing the “sickness” part of “in sickness and in health” this weekend. Dallas even cleans up my snotty tissues for me.

That’s love. He’s a keeper.

 

Leave a Reply

