Ouch

So this post might fall under TMI, but I thought it might be helpful for others with tummy troubles.

In 2010, I ended up in the emergency room with really bad upper abdominal pain. It felt like someone had reached in under my ribs, and started squeezing my innards (lovely image, I know). It was a gnawing, burning pain that gradually got worse throughout one day at work. I got home and had D take me to the emergency room.

I was worried it was my gallbladder, because both my mom and sister have had gall bladder surgery. This was pre-vegan me, who had high cholesterol, and I thought maybe my gall bladder was giving up too. Well, after 6 hours in the emergency room, the doctors said it was probably just gastritis. I ate really bland foods for a couple of weeks, and downed Maalox like it was a milkshake. Eventually, the pain went away, but I would still have horrible indigestion from time to time.

After I went plant-strong, I stopped having indigestion and stomach trouble. . . until last week. I don’t know if I was eating highly acidic foods, or too much alcohol, but that gnawing, burning pain came back. It wasn’t bad enough to go to the doctor, just uncomfortable and annoying. It was probably due to eating out(and drinking out) a lot the prior week. So, I ate milder foods and took some tums and chugged maalox (I have no idea if those are vegan, but we are transitioning the bath products and meds still). The pain just WOULD NOT go away.

I went grocery shopping on Saturday, and D asked if I would pick up some of GT’s Kombucha. I started drinking Kombucha the week of our wedding. I was feeling under-the-weather that week and desperate not to get sick. I saw the Kombucha in Whole Foods and decided to give it a try. I think it’s really yummy (it’s also a little alcoholic because of the fermentation), but it seemed to keep me going. I don’t drink it all the time, but when I’m not feeling great, it’s usually a go to. I also don’t brew my own, that kind of scares me. I’d probably create some mutant evil strain of bacteria and be responsible for the end of the world.

Anyways. . .I saw that there was a Gingerade “flavor” of the Kombucha this weekend, and thought I might as well try it to help my stomach.

Gingerate GT's Kombucha

Well, it worked. After drinking the Kombucha, the pain went away. I felt great the rest of the weekend! I don’t know if it was the probiotics, or if the Kombucha just mellowed out the acidity in my body, but I felt a ton better.

Anyone else feel good benefits from drinking Kombucha?

6 thoughts on “Ouch

  1. I would be inclined to think it was the ginger more than anything else! We regularly take ginger tea (either from bags or from steeping pieces of ginger) for upset stomach. Clearly you’re dealing with more than upset stomach here, but I think ginger would still be helpful!

  2. I love kombucha! I drink it as a snack about a half hour before I go to one of my 2 hour Brazilian jiu jitsu training sessions. I’m hydrated and the B vitamins make me feel like I got shot out of a cannon!

  3. I haven’t noticed any particular benefits .. I just like it. It’s super easy to brew your own. My scoby is dormant in the fridge right now but I’ll probably start brewing again when it gets warmer. The thing produces a baby a week if you ever want to get into it.

Leave a Reply

