Vegan Potluck: Brunch Edition!

Saturday marked our second official Vegan Potluck! Luminous Vegans hosted at their lovely home and this month’s theme was: Brunch! (check out LV’s blog too, it’s a crossover posting!).

We started this back in October, hoping to make it a monthly occurrence. Then in December, we were all a little swamped with the holidays, so tried a local vegan restaurant together. Now that the craziness of the holidays settled down, a brunch seemed like the perfect way to enjoy food, friends, fun, and puppies!

D and I took River over to N&K’s to play with the greyhounds (who are sweet and adorable). Lots of running ensued. We also found out the hard way that pecans are bad for doggies. Just take my word for it.

Now, onto the food!

K made these delicious virgin Mimosas. I drank about 4 of them (no alcohol, no worries). I skipped coffee because I already had a cup at home, and if I have more than one cup of coffee, I get super anxious.

The spread!

We brought over a cheezy hashbrown casserole, loosely based on this recipe I found on The Snarky Chickpea blog. I omitted the oil (because I try to cook oil-free as much as possible) and used a lot less Earth Balance. I also added red, green and yellow peppers for good measure. And A LOT more Daiya (because I’m a little obsessed with Daiya.

We also cooked up some Gimme Lean “sausages” which are always a yummy addition to brunch.

Cheezy Hash Brown Casserole

N & K made a DELICIOUS quiche and put out some beautiful fresh mixed fruit. I’m also jealous of their Vitamix. I need to get me one of those.

Love the colors!From Isa's Vegan Brunch

Our friends A&B brought a cornbread casserole, in both muffin and loaf form. Also, super tasty!

Cornbread muffins

Needless to say, I went back for seconds. We also took a plate of leftovers to our friends M&L who just had a baby! (He’s adorable!!)

I can’t wait for the next Vegan Potluck! I’m lucky to have such awesome friends, who are also amazing cooks!

8 thoughts on “Vegan Potluck: Brunch Edition!

    1. It’s a lot of fun! Invite over your non-vegan friends and challenge them to create a vegan dish. They’ll be surprised how easy it is! Two of our friends were not vegan when we started the potluck, but now they have transitioned all of the meat out of their house!

Leave a Reply

