My first vegan cookies!!

In college, my roommate and I would often have movie nights. These movie nights would involve some chick flick, Doritos, and loads of cookie dough.I ate lots of raw cookie dough in my day. Never got salmonella, but it was probably only a matter of time.

So, I’ve found some awesome vegan cookies. Whole foods makes a mean chocolate chip. But I had a hankering to bake, and the hubs bought me a copy of Isa’s “Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar,” so I decided to try the simplest recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Vegan Cookies!

The recipe is also available on the PPK site. I had most of the ingredients, the only thing I needed to buy was the tapioca flour.

In a few minutes, I had mixed up a yummy batch of cookie dough!

All the taste - minus the salmonella

I did have a couple spoonfuls of the raw dough. It tasted just like I remembered. Now, it’s not completely guilt free. Just because these are vegan doesn’t make them healthy. There’s lots of oil and sugar in these. But you need to splurge every now and then, right?

Get Your Hand Outta My Cookie Jar!

The cookies turned out pretty good for my first batch. They probably could have used a minute more in the oven. D liked them too, he polished off the batch when he came home from a rough day at work.

I’ll definitely be making these again!

 

8 thoughts on “My first vegan cookies!!

  1. I completely agree that splurging is necessary. It’s impossible to maintain vegan status quo if you’re feeling deprived. Fortunately, cookies are easily veganized. Those look absolutely delicious!

  2. Love vegan cookies! Try the rocky road recipe…I haven’t tried Isa’s because I don’t have that book yet (for shame!), but I found a modified recipe from her book online and omg, they were amazing. Next time I make them, I’m nixing the vegan marshmallows and just adding more chocolate… vegan semisweet AND vegan white chocolate chips! yummmm.

Leave a Reply

