Stroganoff Sans Mushrooms

I was inspired by Luminous Vegans post on veganizing Beef Stroganoff. D is also a big stroganoff fan, and that’s actually one of the first meals he ever made me (back when we were still eating animals).

However, D doesn’t like mushrooms. So although Veggie Grette’s recipe for mushroom stroganoff looked and sounded delish, I knew it wouldn’t be the right recipe for us.

I scoured the web and came upon this recipe from Lux Hippie for the “Best Vegan Stroganoff Ever.” Well, with a name like that, I had to give it a try.

"beefy" "cheesy" goodness

I didn’t have Seitan on hand, so I substituted with Gimme Lean “beef.” I also used quinoa shells instead of brown rice fusilli, since it’s what I had on hand.

The stroganoff was so quick and easy to make, and super delicious. D approved, and we both happily ate two bowls.

* * *

Now, a small warning. Sometimes we forget that we can get food poisoning from greens. I think my kale was bad, because about 30 minutes after dinner, both of us had. . . well, some stomach issues. We don’t normally have reactions to any other ingredient used in the dish, so I definitely think the Kale was the culprit.

So, just be careful and make sure your greens are fresh and well washed before eating. Your tummy will thank you.

 

7 thoughts on “Stroganoff Sans Mushrooms

  1. Definitely going to try this soon. I really miss stroganoff and the boyfriend isn’t a big mushroom fan…I think this is a meal we could BOTH enjoy, which is tough! Hope you’re feeling better after your food poisoning…that is the WORST. I got really sick once after eating a veggie chipotle burrito bowl and it totally ruined chipotle/mexican/beans for me for months.

Leave a Reply

