Vegucated

I watched Vegucated last night, and it was wonderful. I highly recommend watching this journey of three non-vegans as they discover the realities of factory farming and meat-eating.

Sure, not all of them adopt a 100% vegan lifestyle (trust me, this isn’t a spoiler), but they all become more compassionate and mindful of what they are eating/wearing/doing.

From a lady who is too scared to sit down and watch more than the trailer for Earthlings, this had a good balance of information about health and animal treatment. I cried at the images and descriptions of the cows, pigs, chickens and chicks that feed more than 4 billion people on this planet.

I want to raise my children vegan. I want to have a vegan pregnancy when the time comes. I wish that education like this was mandatory in schools.

When I was in high school, I went to D.C. to lobby in front of congress for a woman’s right to choose. I was 16 and it was a part of our synagogue’s confirmation class trip. We were all required to meet with our congressman/woman and lobby for something we cared about.

I hope to one day take my children to lobby in front of our congressman/woman for animal rights.

We are eating our earth into oblivion. We are eating ourselves into heart-attacks and diabetes and obesity. We are eating animals out of a right to life.

OK, I’ll step off my soapbox for now, but sometimes, it’s good to take a reminder every couple of months about why I’m doing this, and why I’ve made these changes.

You can watch Vegucated for free on Amazon Roku if you are a Prime member.

2 thoughts on “Vegucated

Leave a Reply

