Yummy in my Tummy

I finally did it! I made something with cashews!!

My first recipe utilizing cashews was Chef Chloe Coscarelli’s (winner of Cupcake Wars) Fettuccine Alfredo from her new cookbook Chloe’s Kitchen.

If you don’t have the cookbook yet, I highly recommend purchasing. However, if you can’t get to a bookstore and want to make this TONIGHT, then head over to Your Vegan Mom and check out the recipe.

Photo from Your Vegan Mom

I didn’t have onion, so I skipped the first step and just threw some minced garlic into the blender with the other ingredients. I don’t have a Vitamix (YET), so I soaked my cashews overnight.

The sauce was very very watery after blending. I think if I had added more cashews, it would have been thicker. However, I found that if I heated the sauce and threw in some nutritional yeast, it thickened up pretty quickly.

I also threw in some peas and topped with a sprinkle of ground pepper.

This has been one of my favorite recipes so far. I thought it tasted exactly like “real” alfredo, but without the crampy tummy issues that dairy creates.

I think I’m going to make it the next time we have people over to dinner.

So quick. So easy. So yummy.

 

4 thoughts on “Yummy in my Tummy

Leave a Reply

