Vegan Shortcuts

Everyone feels a little lazy now and then. Sometimes, I can barely muster up energy to put ingredients in a bowl, let alone chop and peel and dice. So, I’ve found some easy shortcuts that make cooking quick and easy.

1. Pre-chopped veggies: sure, it’s a little more expensive, but you can get pre-chopped onions, celery, tomatoes and other veggies at Publix. Our Kroger doesn’t have them, but sometimes Whole Foods does as well. They are great for lazy nights.

2. Canned Beans: I use canned because a) I find they are cheaper than dry beans and b) I just don’t have the patience to soak beans. Sure, I can soak them overnight the same way I do cashews, but truthfully, they intimidate me, and it’s easier to pop open a can and rinse the beans.

3. Nooch: I put that $%!^ on everything!: Not really a shortcut, but I find that nutritional yeast makes a really good substitute for Parmesan (for some reason, I can’t find vegan Parmesan in ATL), makes a great cheese substitute when you need a cheesy flavor, AND it’s a good source of B12. So, just sprinkle some noochy nooch for a b12 and flavor boost!

4. Frozen veggies: I know, fresh is usually best, but I’ve heard arguments that frozen veggies sometimes retain more nutritional value if they are flash frozen. . .or something. BUT, they are EASY. Especially the kind that steam right in the bag in the microwave. If I have a bigger grocery budget, this is usually my splurge. I cook the veggies, and then throw them into whatever stir fry I’m cooking up or serve as an easy side dish.

5. Pre-cubed tofu: If you are feeling EXTREMELY lazy, then you can actually buy your tofu pre-cubed. It saves about 2 minutes of cubing it yourself, but it’s good when you really don’t have a lot of time to throw dinner together. I have found that the pre-cubed tofu never seems like as much quantity as when I cube myself, so I save this extravagance for nights of uberlazy.

What are your favorite vegan cooking shortcuts?

Leave a Reply

