New York, New York

I’m in New York for a couple of days on business. Tonight, we are eating at the famous Candle 79! (We, btw, is myself and my colleague) I’m excited to try this vegan Mecca of dining.

Last night, we wound up in Greenwich Village at The Spotted Pig. Yes, it’s kind of funny that a vegan would end up there, but I had a very yummy plate of sides. What I loved most about this place was it’s ambiance. Brick walls, cozy wood paneling. It felt like a number of restaurants that we have in Atlanta. Casual and comfortable, but with an amazing menu (ie. not your standard bar food). It wasn’t your typical “see and be seen” NYC restaurant, which is why I was happy there. We sat at the bar (which serves the full menu).

So, after dinner, we walked around the neighborhood a little bit and stumbled upon SLICE.  It was another cozy little nook in the village, and I was drawn to their menu by two words VEGAN CHEESECAKE. After perusing the menu a bit more, I noticed they had several vegan-friendly items on their menu, including their own craft beer and wine. We decided to sit down and enjoy a few drinks, but I was much too full for their cheesecake. Maybe next time. But, definitely check this place out.

Also, the service at both restaurants was amazing and both of our servers were patient and funny, and seemed like they, too, could have been plucked from an Atlanta eatery and dropped in NYC.

More to come!

 

2 thoughts on “New York, New York

Leave a Reply

