Veganizing an old favorite: Apricot Chicken

My mom used to make this awesome Apricot Chicken, that was SO EASY. So, I took a stab at veganizing it.

Try some Un-Chicken instead!

The original recipe calls for:

  • Boneless skinless chicken breasts (eww)
  • One packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix (accidentally vegan)
  • One bottle of Russian or Catalina Dressing
  • One jar of Apricot preserves
  • Preheat oven to 375. Mix all ingredients together. Pour mixture over chicken. Cook for 30-45 minutes (Gosh, I don’t miss how long real chicken takes to cook).

So really, the only thing I needed to veganize was the Chicken. I opted to try Gardein’s Chickn Scallopini instead of the Chicken and adjusted the cook time in the on to 15-20 minutes.

I also love to make Mahatma Yellow Rice (also accidentally vegan, and gluten free!) to accompany this dish. It’s my favorite yellow rice, and I just substitute Earth Balance in place of butter in the recipe.

The recipe turned out pretty good, but to tell the truth, I’m not crazy about Gardein’s Scallopini. I love some of their other products, so I’d be curious what the recipe would taste like with their Chick’n Filets. I also think Seitan might be a good option to make this dish taste even better!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Veganizing an old favorite: Apricot Chicken

  1. What a brilliant idea! I don’t know why I didn’t think of it. I am going to try it with the Chik’n Filets and see how your carnivore father likes it. It has always been one of his favorites the original way.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

