Vegan Thanksgiving 2012

I hope everyone had a relaxing Thanksgiving break, full of yummy food and good times with family.

We had TWO Thanksgiving meals (on the same day) this year. Everything was so good, I should have worn stretch pants. Also, I’ve successfully regained all the weight I lost during my stint in the hospital, which was probably needed.

Thanksgiving #1 was at my sister-in-law’s house, and would be mostly un-vegan. However, she did go out of her way to get us vegan desserts, and her mother-in-law made a delicious cranberry salad. Since we were cooking anyways for Thanksgiving #2, we just made double batches of our sides.For the main dish for Thanksgiving #1, we brought the Gardein Savory Stuffed Turky. Since D and I would be the only two eating the fake meat, it was a perfect serving size!

Thanksgiving #2 was hosted at my aunt’s house. I’ve mentioned that my mom is vegan (I’m so proud!), and we also had some vegan-curious eaters, so I wanted to bring a Turkey alternative that all could try. When I heard that Gardein had a new holiday roast, and that our local co-op grocery had them on-sale, I snatched one up for our dinner.

We also helped out and brought a couple of side dishes: Twice-baked potato casserole, Green Bean Casserole, and some maple-roasted Brussels Sprouts. Of course, some family members wouldn’t touch the “vegan sides.” Oh well, they missed out, and more for me.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole
Twice Baked Potato Casserole
The whole spread
The whole spread

Sorry for the blurriness. I may have had a couple Thanksgiving cocktails by the time I took these.

We had TONS of leftovers. In fact, I still have a whole other potato casserole in my fridge. I always feel like I have too little, or too much food.

I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Thanksgiving 2012

  1. I’m sad you didn’t mention the delicious vegan mock chopped “liver” I made that everybody loved even the non-vegans and the two vegan stuffings which were a hit. The whole meal was delicious and the family get together lively and fun as always!!
    Mom

    1. Yes, it was so delicious!! I’ve blogged about the chopped liver before. I can’t believe I forgot to mention the stuffing. That’s what happens when I wait a week to post my Thanksgiving post. Also, I have a cold. Those are my excuses.

Leave a Reply

