Resolve and Evolve

Each year, I look back at the previous year’s resolutions and recap whether I stuck to them.

There’s no need to do that this year, because I completely and utterly failed at keeping to my resolutions.

But, it’s OK.

This year was completely different than I planned. I had to reevaluate priorities, shift schedules, and re calibrate my focus. That’s life. We’re constantly changing and evolving. It was a great year overall (see previous post on gratitude), but I’m not going to beat myself up because pressing into handstand (one of my resolutions) didn’t happen. It wasn’t important.

This year taught me a lot about my priorities and what’s important. So, here’s my list of resolutions for 2015:

1) Take care of myself – Sometimes, we say horrible things to ourselves that we would never dream of saying to anyone else. I’m going to be nicer to myself. I’m going to recognize when I need to take time to relax and recharge, to get a massage, to go get my nails done, to take a nap. I’m going to make sure that I treat myself with love and respect, because I kind of forgot to do that during parts of this year, and got a little burnt out. Which leads to. . .

2) Do. Yoga. – I spent an amazing weekend in Savannah with even more amazing friends doing yoga with Kathryn Budig. Before that weekend, it had probably been three months since I had done any yoga regularly. If I don’t do yoga, it makes taking care of myself that much harder. I go a little crazy when I don’t do yoga. It’s not about pressing into handstand, it’s not about how flexible I am, It’s about getting on my mat every day and doing SOMETHING. Even if it’s just meditating. Though, those fancy yoga moves are great fun, especially at parties.

3) Be present. – Get off the computer. Stop looking at the phone all the time. Enjoy the moment. Relish conversation. Look out the window. Drink in this crazy, beautiful world we live in.

Those are just three. I may set more. I may not. Who cares? We all have the freedom to evolve and change.

So as we head into a new year, I wish for all of you light, love, and happiness.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

