What’s up?

I’ve been on a huge blogging hiatus. Mostly because I’ve been on a long journey with food.

True confessions time – for a few months there, I started eating fish again.

I was doing a ton of yoga, I was under a lot of stress, and I went through all sorts of other justifications to let fish back in my life.

Then, some other things followed. On a work trip, I might “ignore” that something had dairy. I let oil back into my life. I did an ayurvedic cleanse that used ghee. I read about popular vegan bloggers who had left the vegan lifestyle and felt like I was justified.

So, I didn’t feel like a very good FORMER fish taco fanatic.

BUT.

My weight started to creep up again after being stable for so long. My cholesterol went up again. I started breaking out and feeling sluggish and horrible. I went up a pant size. I hated how I looked in every photo that was taken. And I also had that guilty feeling that I was still eating animals. Just because Fish aren’t cute, doesn’t mean I should eat them.

On our vacation this summer, I started listening to some podcast interviews with Chef AJ, who I found out about from Healthy Girl’s Kitchen’s blog. Wendy at Healthy Girl’s Kitchen probably doesn’t know me from Adam, but I started reading her when I got into food blogging, and she started writing more and more about Chef AJ and John Pierre’s Ultimate Weight Loss (UWL) program.

It’s about more than just weight loss. It’s about cutting out oil, salt, and sugar to help recalibrate your brain chemistry to cut addictions to processed, unhealthy foods. It’s about total HEALTH.

I started this whole vegan way of eating because of Forks Over Knives. But my “vegan” diet lately looked a lot less healthy, and more like a junk food vegan.

I’m not going to lie, when I first heard about UWL, I thought it would be restrictive. You eat whole fruits and veggies, legumes, and whole grains (brown rice, quinoa, etc.) No wheat. And for weight loss NO NUTS or AVOCADOS. Avocados are my absolute favorite in the world, but until I hit my goal weight, I will say to them, farewell.

But, I’m sick and tired of feeling sick and tired. I’ve only been on UWL for about two weeks, so I don’t have hard results YET. But I can say after two weeks, my skin is already clearer and my clothes are fitting better.

The diet (diet is the wrong work, it’s really lifestyle change) is NOT at all restrictive. I feel comfortably full and satisfied. I’m eating healthy foods that my body needs, and cutting out all the other crud. I keep my meals simple, filling, and colorful!

I’m going to be blogging and sharing here about my experience on UWL. I’m a participant who only has about 15 pounds to lose, which is always the hardest, so I’m excited to see my progress and thankful that there is a strong and growing UWL community to lean on.

If you’re interested in UWL and want to learn more, please feel free to email me or comment below.

Also – even though I won’t be eating out as much, I am STILL keeping the Where to Eat Vegan in Atlanta page updated.

Leave a Reply

